Axis Customer Forum

It is currently Sun Mar 24, 2019 11:20 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 12:26 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:16 am
Posts: 1
The update of Q7401 encoder to version 5.20.2 fails with following report:

Preparing system for upgrade ...
Starting run level 4 (stop most daemons) ...
Waiting for run level 4 to start ...
Run level 4 started.
Waiting for run level 4 to finish ...
... waiting ...
... waiting ...
... waiting ...
... waiting ...
... waiting ...
Run level 4 finished.
Stopping some remaining processes.
sending TERM signal ...
Most processes stopped.
The file system will be upgraded after reboot.
Saving parameters using parhand
Starting parhand... done

Parameters saved
Unmounting file system /var ...
Unmounting file system /mnt/flash ...
umount /mnt/flash failed with exit status: 1
found magic

Receiving new firmware ...
Making new image to save rwfs.
Mount failed
Error: Failed to make new image
The system upgrade failed.
The unit will now reboot.
To continue, please connect to the unit again.
There may be a short delay before the new connection is accepted.
This connection will now close.

Any idea?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:32 am 

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 7:48 am
Posts: 2
Hi just upgraded ours a few weeks ago. Are you directly connecting to the server via cable?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 11:07 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 11:00 am
Posts: 1
I have exactly the same issue.

Regards.


Frank Schille wrote:
The update of Q7401 encoder to version 5.20.2 fails with following report:

Preparing system for upgrade ...
Starting run level 4 (stop most daemons) ...
Waiting for run level 4 to start ...
Run level 4 started.
Waiting for run level 4 to finish ...
... waiting ...
... waiting ...
... waiting ...
... waiting ...
... waiting ...
Run level 4 finished.
Stopping some remaining processes.
sending TERM signal ...
Most processes stopped.
The file system will be upgraded after reboot.
Saving parameters using parhand
Starting parhand... done

Parameters saved
Unmounting file system /var ...
Unmounting file system /mnt/flash ...
umount /mnt/flash failed with exit status: 1
found magic

Receiving new firmware ...
Making new image to save rwfs.
Mount failed
Error: Failed to make new image
The system upgrade failed.
The unit will now reboot.
To continue, please connect to the unit again.
There may be a short delay before the new connection is accepted.
This connection will now close.

Any idea?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:18 am 

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 11:24 pm
Posts: 1
same problem with P3301 cameras.. via web or managment software not able to upgrade firmware.
I like the fact there doesn't seem to be answer yet ?

Quote:
Preparing system for upgrade ...
Starting run level 4 (stop most daemons) ...
Waiting for run level 4 to start ...
Run level 4 started.
Waiting for run level 4 to finish ...
... waiting ...
... waiting ...
... waiting ...
... waiting ...
... waiting ...
Run level 4 finished.
Stopping some remaining processes.
sending TERM signal ...
Most processes stopped.
The file system will be upgraded after reboot.
Saving parameters using parhand
Starting parhand... done

Parameters saved
Unmounting file system /var ...
umount /var failed with exit status: 1
Unmounting file system /mnt/flash ...
umount /mnt/flash failed with exit status: 1
found magic

Receiving new firmware ...
Making new image to save rwfs.
Mount failed
Error: Failed to make new image
The system upgrade failed.
The unit will now reboot.
To continue, please connect to the unit again.
There may be a short delay before the new connection is accepted.
This connection will now close.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:04 am 

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:59 am
Posts: 1
Exactly the same with http and "Axis Camera Managment".

They won't help us....

BUT, I'd tried an older version, than the next verion above and so on.
There are no problems with the Cam upgrading step by step with every founded version. Now the Cam is at the latest release.

Jan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:05 am 

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:55 pm
Posts: 1
I had the same issue "Error: Failed to make new image" with two different Q7404 units that were on 5.02.

I tried about dozen times (with different methods, settings, and firmware versions), but what finally got mine to upgrade was setting a DNS server and an NTP provider. No idea if this is the "silver bullet" of solutions, but I figure fixing the time or kicking the IP settings did the trick.

Maybe this will work for someone else and save them a headache...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2016 6:21 pm 

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 5:54 pm
Posts: 1
I was having the same problem with my P1405-E camera upgrading the firmware from 5.80.1.1 to 6.40.1.1. I followed McKenzie Kotuby suggestion and changed the camera DNS from DHCP to static and it worked. I was able to upgrade the firmware. This is crazy.
Anyway, to change the camera DNS settings go to System Options > Network > TCPIP > Advanced.

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 1:37 am 

Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 1:38 am
Posts: 739
Use ftp mode with "flash_all" option.

Note that this option is equivalent to hardware reset after firmware reflash. Root password is reset to default password "pass"

After ftp to the unit with root login, do the following.

bin
hash
put <firmware name> flash_all


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group