Axis Customer Forum
https://custforum.axis.com/

External Access to my Axis Camera Stream
https://custforum.axis.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=6358
Page 1 of 1

Author:  James Greeno [ Thu Mar 07, 2019 10:36 pm ]
Post subject:  External Access to my Axis Camera Stream

I previously setup a webpage that would display my Axis camera feed. Last year, I changed internet service providers, and received a new router.

My web page no longer works when accessed externally, but DOES work if I access it from my local network, so I am guessing I lost some Router port or DMZ settings. The web page is hosted by a service, and is located at a 'server farm somewhere on the web'... When I access this page from my home network, the stream is visible, but if I access it at an external location, the stream is not displayed.

Where can I find the proper Router settings to open ports &/or set up a DMZ, if that is what I need?

The camera is an Axis 2100, if that makes a difference. I have a No-IP DDNS service that updates the web address to point to the correct IP Address.

My thanks in advance...

Author:  Cheng Xin 345535 [ Fri Mar 08, 2019 3:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: External Access to my Axis Camera Stream

Go to the router and check what type of IP address it is receiving from your ISP for its WAN IP. It will be private if it start with the following.

1. 10.0.0.0 to 10.255.255.255
2. 172.16.0.0 to 172.31.255.255
3. 192.168.0.0 to 192.168.255.255

If it is a private address then your port working will definitely not work.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_network

If you are interested in further discussion, please contact me via Skype @ Cheng.Xin.SG

Author:  James Greeno [ Fri Mar 08, 2019 1:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: External Access to my Axis Camera Stream

Thank you, Cheng, for the follow-up.

My home LAN is in the range of 192.168.0.0 to 192.168.255.255, and the ISP sets my external IP to 67.250.nnn.nnn. This is not static, and changes over time; HOWEVER, I have a DDNS service that constantly updates the destination IP for http://<myUniqueLabel>.myvnc.com:8010/view/view.shtml so it displays the camera stream.

This worked very well for several years, until my router was replaced. I believe in addition to forwarding Port 80 (8010), there may have been another forwarded Port (or range of ports), but I don't have any other details to set that up again.

I was hoping that someone who has done something similar could suggest what other ports need to be open, for example 4520 - 4524.

Thanks...

Author:  Cheng Xin 345535 [ Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: External Access to my Axis Camera Stream

You still have to ensure that your new ISP is providing you a public IP address.

Beside that you may need to ensure that RTSP port 554 is also portforwarded if your apps is using RTSP protocol to access the stream.

You may find help in portforwarding of your router in this link
https://portforward.com/

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/